Results for the Club Championship 2021

Despite the constraints of COVID 19 the club ran a very successful and full series of time trial events in 2021. Although entries from Hafren members were down on the numbers in previous years, the competition did not suffer as the series was well supported by riders from other clubs. Individual races were harder to win as the consequence of this strong support. Club members posted very impressive times, you need to ride a 22 or 23 and average over 43 KPM to win one of these.

In organizing and promoting these events there is a simple aim, to give a chance to race. The support shown for the whole series was gratifying and the club thanks all who competed and our excellent Time Keeper, Des Pugh, TT Secretary, Jason Arnold and Pete Thomas who marshalled and supported the officials.

Entry to events was on-line only through the Eventbrite portal. It is, at this stage in the pandemic likely we will will continue with this for 2022. The 2022 season provisional events can be found here Hafren CC TT Series 2022

We have new club champions in both the Women’s and Men’s Events.

In the Women’s Championship Jan Davies notice an impressive 263 points for her qualifying rides in her first season testing against the clock. It was close fought with Karen Proctor narrowly missing out in second on 234 points

In the men’s competition the racing was tight, with four of our guest riders dipping under 21 minutes for the Berriew 10.

On the night competition was tight, but a dominant performance in the club competition, winning 9 qualifying events and finishing on an unbeatable 270 points Conrad Taylor took some big scalps amongst the guest riders. Mark Hill fought hard to get in front, finishing narrowly behind, never placing lower than second, on 264 points with bronze going to new member Mick Case who chased hard all season, narrowly missing out on higher honours with 261 points.

Conrad Taylor also picked up the club Hill Climb Trophy.

Men’s Results TT Series 2022 – Best 9 qualifying rides

1Conrad Taylor270
2Mark Hill264
3Mick Case261
4Carl Evans240
5Pete Villiers239
6Alun Roberts235
7Steve Taylor222
8Thomas Fraenzel219
9Simon Jones102
10Ian Coe87
11Jason Arnold79
12John Lightbrown76
13Fred Meredith60
14Carl Spencer55
15Paul Bufton48
16Max Bufton29
17John Hall24

Women’s Results TT Series 2022 – Best 9 qualifying rides

1Jan Davies263
2Karen Proctor234
3Louise Hurdley90
4Gemma Pryce57
5Emma Serjeant30