Well, at last it’s back!  After three or four very strange months we have been given the go ahead to start competitive sport.  This week’s time trial was held on the Berriew 10 course and was limited to 30 (including riders and marshals) to comply with the current Welsh Government regulations.  After a very strange booking on system 26 riders readied themselves to take on the course.  Unfortunately, one rider, Bryn Davies, suffered a puncture en route to the start and was unable to take his place.

After a rain shower during book on, the weather cleared as the riders started and in almost windless conditions the remaining riders posted good times.  Overall male winner on the night, with a time of 19 min 58 secs, was Kieran Morris from Team Bottril.  Second was David Griffiths in 20 min 39 secs and third place went to Ben Pierce of MSW one second later in 20 min 40 secs.  First Hafren rider was Fred Meredith in 22 min 10 secs.  Second Hafren rider was Sean Grosvenor and third was Neil Vose.  First women home was Louise Hurdley (Hafren CC) and second was Helen Tudor (OPCC).

Owing to the shortened time trial season there will only be one age group competition this year.  As well as the Overall Club Championship, with points for finishing position, all vets will have their results being worked out using the VTTA Standards, (click here for more) a handicap system that takes riders age and gender into consideration. 

We are also running a Road Bike competition again this year and hoping this will encourage members to have a go without a TT bike. These results will also be worked on VTTA Standard.

Good luck to everyone (Hafren members) who gave their age on the start sheet.

Next weeks time trial will be held on the 12 mile course in Welshpool. This is the new D312/1. The route shows the revised start finish – click here  Meeting place will be The Flash but at the moment the building is still closed so meet as usual in the car park.  Again it will be members and guests with numbers limited to 25.  Please not the new start, The route can be found here

Members and Guests have been e-mailed the booking details for next weeks TT or you can click here

Booking details will not be on Facebook. We have to limit the field to 30 (including marshals). We cannot limit Facebook access to members and guests, so e-mail link and website only

Posn Rider Time HCC Men HCC Women Points
1 Kieran Morris 19.58
2 David Griffiths 20.39
3 Ben Pierce 21.40
4 James Satoor 21.41
5 Jack Morris 21.57
6 Fred Meredith 22.10 1 30
7 Sean Grosvenor 22.23 2 29
8 Peter Fletcher 23.02
9 Neil Vose 23.36 3 28
10 Mark Hill 23.46 4 27
11 Conrad Taylor 23.47 5 26
12 Peter Thomas 23.58 6 25
13 Elwyn Turner 25.03 7 24
14 Shane Logan 25.22 8 23
15 Louise Hurdley 25.30 1 30
16 Glyn Jones  25.34 9 22
17 Max Bufton  26.18 10 21
18 Simon Jones 26.26 11 20
19 Graham  26.46 12 19
20 Peter Villiers 26.52 13 18
21 Thomas Fraenzel 27.21 14 17
22 Paul Bufton 27.40 15 16
23 Helen Tudor 27.54
24 Gareth Jackson 29.48 16 15
25 Steve Taylor 30.48 17 14
26 Bryn Davies DNS 10

Vets Competition

Vet PositionBibNameVet +/-Vet Points
125Sean Grosvenor4.1730
217Neil Vose3.1329
316Mark Hill3.1228
43Louise Hurdley2.9027
519Glyn Jones1.8826
618Shane Logan1.8125
75Graham Harris0.8724
821Thomas Fraenzel-1.0923
91Steve Taylor-2.0022
1024Bryn DaviesDNS10