Hafren RC was founded in the mid 1980s by Tour de France stage winner Barry Hoban and Commonwealth Pursuit medallist Wes Mason. Although a thriving club, cycle sport was not a mainstream activity in the area and membership numbers declined to a level that the club disappeared. In 2011 the club was relaunched and we now have over 175 members, covering Welshpool, Newtown and Llanidloes, with 40 juniors and a over 30% female membership. (We working to get to 50/50).

Hafren CC has some real professional pedigree, as our Club President, Barry Hoban, whole lives locally, was a very successful professional cyclist, achieved 8 Tour de France stage wins during his career, spanning between 1955 and 1981; amongst other greats such as Eddie Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Raymond Poulidor.

“Its down to clubs like yours that ensure people of all ages and abilities have the chance to take up what has to be one of the best sports and pastimes. Okay, I’m Biased! But you never know, a future Olympic gold medallist or Tour de France winner could be from Montgomeryshire! I’ve had the chance to look at your club website and the TT results. The improvement throughout the season has been great. Keep working at it, and well done to David Gethin for taking the overall top spot. Come on guy’s, you can’t let him take it again next season! I’ll be watching. Finally, I just want to say well done to everyone involved in Hafren CC. Keep the club meets going throughout the winter months. Best wishes to you all and, above all, stay safe and enjoy!”

Message from Geraint Thomas (2011)

The Club in 1990
Before a TT 1990
New Club Kit 1993
New Club Kit 1993